Friday | Picture of the Week | Week 28

Before I say anything else, please take a look at that hydrangea bush…its owner must have one serious green thumb! And don’t worry, the picture is not deceiving you. The bush is as big as the house, has as many blooms as the entire LA Flower Mart, and by my calculation if the owner was to sell each bloom for the going rate that bush is worth $400!

I have seen this bush bloom for the past three years and every time I am in awe (and secretly kind of want to “snip” a few blooms….juuuust a few.) I even asked my husband what he thinks about taking a few and he was appalled I even asked. I thought he must be a boy and just doesn’t get it. So what do you do when you need advice on something only a girl can relate to? Ask Mom of course; she loves flowers so she will understand. I asked my Mom, if it would be “ok” if I took a few and then tried to describe to her just how many blooms this lady had and how she really really would never know or miss those blooms and that I would really really enjoy those blooms in my house. My Mom replied, “SHANNON? You can’t STEAL the neighbors flowers!” Yikes – I guess I got my answer and I learned, at 27 years old (this was last year when I asked), that taking a few blooms from the neighbor is not allowed.*

Until, I have a yard that consists of more than my three potted plants, I will be enjoying this seasons hydrangea blooms only through my pictures.

*Travis McConnell, if you are reading this, picking strawberries from the “neighbors” would also fall under this category.

4 thoughts on “Friday | Picture of the Week | Week 28

  1. I can’t help but think that if you knocked on the door and told them how amazing the bush is and how you have admired it for years that you would not only bring a smile to a stranger’s face but you would probably go home with more blooms than you could hold. Try it you may be pleasantly surprised. It is a beautiful bush – it loves that ocean air.

  2. I’m with Nancy, unless there is a dog on the other side of the fence, I would go introduce myself to the neighbor and ask for gardening tips… and perhaps if you could have a bloom or two for your dinner table…
    If they provide you with some tips.. please share, that is an amazing Hydrangia bush.

    And to Travis… if you are reading, strawberry stealing is enough to get you shot in some parts 😉 LOL

Leave a Reply

