Recipe | White Pizza with Arugula

Since returning from Costa Rica,  I have been dying to try and make homemade pizza in hopes of achieving something similar to El Pulpo’s pizza in Santa Teresa. I received this dough recipe from Carrie J. which she has tested several times herself and decided to use the toppings from a recipe in my Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics cookbook.  In addition to the toppings Ina Garten recommended, I also added several slices of Italian meats which I picked up from Costco including: spicy sopressata and hot salame.

The pizza’s turned out awesome and I can’t wait to make again and play with more ingredients!!!!

White Pizza with Arugula and Sopressata

Makes: Two  8″ pizzas

Dough

Ingredients
  • 2  teaspoons  honey
  • 1  package active dry yeast (about 2 1/4 teaspoons)
  • 3/4  cup  warm water (100° to 110°)
  • 2 1/4  cups  all-purpose flour (about 10 ounces), divided
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • Cooking spray
Preparation
Dissolve the honey and yeast in 3/4 cup warm water in a large bowl. Let stand 5 minutes or until bubbly. Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Add 2 cups flour and salt to yeast mixture; stir until a soft dough forms. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Knead until smooth and elastic (about 6 minutes); add enough of the remaining flour, 1 tablespoon at a time, to prevent dough from sticking to hands (dough will feel slightly sticky).
Place dough in a large bowl coated with cooking spray, turning to coat top. Cover and let rise in a warm place (85°), free from drafts, 30 minutes or until doubled in size. (Gently press two fingers into dough. If the indentation remains, the dough has risen enough.)
Roll dough into a 12-inch circle (about 1/4 inch thick) on a lightly floured surface. Place dough on a rimless baking sheet. Crimp edges of dough with fingers to form a rim. Lightly spray surface of dough with cooking spray, and cover with plastic wrap. Place the dough in refrigerator for up to 30 minutes. Bake according to recipe directions.
SPACE

PIZZA TOPPINGS

For the garlic oil:

  • Good olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, sliced
  • 5 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

For the topping:

  • 2 cups grated Italian fontina cheese (8 ounces)
  • 1  cups grated fresh mozzarella cheese (7 ounces)
  • 6 ounces creamy goat cheese, such as montrachet, crumbled
  • Several slices of Italian meats: sopressata & salame

For the vinaigrette:

  • 1/2 cup good olive oil (I used much less, just enough to coat the arugula)
  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice (I used much less, just enough to coat the arugula)
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 8 ounces baby arugula

Directions

Garlic oil:
Place 1/2 cup olive oil, the garlic, thyme and red pepper flakes in a small saucepan and bring to a simmer over low heat. Cook for 10 minutes, making sure the garlic doesn’t burn. Set aside.
Preheat the oven to 500 degrees. (Be sure your oven is clean!)
SPACE
Portion the dough.
Dump the dough onto a board and divide it into 2 equal pieces. Place the doughs on sheet pans sprayed with cooking spray. Allow the dough to rest for 10 minutes. Use immediately, or refrigerate for up to 4 hours.
SPACE
Stretch the dough.
Press and stretch each ball into an 8-inch circle and place 1 circles on each sheet pan lined with parchment paper. (If you’ve chilled the dough, take it out of the refrigerator approximately 30 minutes ahead to let it come to room temperature.)
SPACE
Top the dough.
Brush the pizzas with the garlic oil, and sprinkle each one liberally with salt and pepper. Sprinkle the pizzas evenly with fontina, mozzarella and goat cheese. Drizzle each pizza with 1 tablespoon more of the garlic oil and bake for 10 to 15 minutes, until the crusts are crisp and the cheeses begin to brown.
SPACE
Make the vinaigrette.
Meanwhile, whisk together the olive oil, the lemon juice, 1 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper.
SPACE
Add the greens.
When the pizzas are done, place the arugula in a large bowl and toss with just enough lemon vinaigrette to moisten. Place a large bunch of arugula on each pizza and a slice of lemon and serve immediately.
SPACE
TIP Make sure the bowl is warm before you put the water and yeast in; the water must be warm for the yeast to develop.

TIP Salt inhibits the growth of yeast; add half the flour, then the salt, and then the rest of the flour.

———-
145 thoughts on “Recipe | White Pizza with Arugula

    • Hi Katherine,
      Sorry, but I have never made it without the honey so I don’t have much to compare it to, but honestly, I really couldn’t taste the honey, it just tasted like yummy pizza crust! Both Ina Garten and the Cooking Light recipe called for honey so I went with it! Good luck!

    • the honey is actually only used to get the yeast working, as yeast works better with a little bit of sugary something. it doesn´t actually taste much of honey and surely you can leave the honey out if you use warm water to add to the dough.

  1. It’s so pretty. Of course I want pizza sauce and LOTS of it. Maybe I should just forgo the pizza and simply have the sauce. Yeah…that’s probably a better plan than drowning a pretty pizza like that in sauce.

    Crystal

  2. Pingback: White Pizza with Arugula and Sopressata | Walter's Greasy Spoon

  3. Looks wonderful! I really need to try and make my own pizza! Arugula is a nice touch too. Congrats on being FP!

  4. This looks so good (even more so because I haven’t eaten lunch yet)! We make homemade pizza here at home and always use olive oil instead of tomatoe sauce. I love tomatoes (eat one almost daily) and tomatoe sauce in other things, but never liked it on pizza.
    I think I might try this one this weekend. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  5. YUMMY! Not only that it sounds very tasty but the photography is awesome! Are you a photographer too? WOW! I’d love to learn how you do that! Anyway, can’t wait to try it this recipe myself. Thanks for sharing.

  6. this sounds delicious.I’m growing arugula in my garden this summer and will have to hold on to this recipe.

  7. You’ve just finalized my menu for Sunday’s meal! 🙂 The recipe looks great, those directions and tips and pretty much in-depth. Also, I was searching for a good pizza-dough recipe for quite some time, so thanks for that link too!

    Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed 🙂

  8. Pingback: Recipe | White Pizza with Arugula (via Our Footprints…..) « QF Pre-Beta Test

  9. Pingback: Recipe | White Pizza with Arugula (via Our Footprints…..) | Life's a bitch, then you die.

  10. Pingback: Recipe | White Pizza with Arugula « Our Footprints….. « healthy pizza recipes

    • Thank you – to be honest, I just sort of eye balled it based on the amount of arugula I wanted, but those were the measurements used in Ina Garten’s recipe.

  11. That looks seriously delicious and I really like the photos, the top one especially. Damn I need a new camera. I like the honey in the dough idea, I guess it makes it sweeter and perhaps a little crispier. It’s all about the crunch with pizza. Maybe ill give it a go and blog the results, have been looking for a good dough recipe.

  12. Awesome recipe. I was short on ingredients though, so I made a few substitutions. For the white sauce, I swapped in chipotle mayo; for the toppings, I put in some chicken and avocado; and for the crust, I went with a hamburger bun. It was fantastic, I definitely plan on making it again. Five stars. P.S. Great w/ garlic fries on the side and a root beer float.

  13. oh, this look so pretty and delicious..I love arugula leaves on pizza..btw, congrats on being featured on freshly pressed..well deserved!

  14. I just made homemade pizza with a little girl I hung out with tonight – it is a great activity for all ages! My husband and I have competitions with who can make the better pizza! This one looks delicious and I think if I made it in one of our ‘ all for fun’ competitions I would definitely win! Can’t wait to try it thanks!

  15. Looks really good. But perhaps for the Vietnamese, it is rather complex way. Purchase of raw materials was very difficult.

  16. Our daughter just moved to France and she told us a Pizza Truck comes around and sells to the members in the community and they discovered just what you are describing here. Not the typical pizza with tomato sauce. She says it is very good.

  17. Cooking spray? Vinaigrette? Honey?
    Personal variations on recepis are always welcome, but… have you ever tasted the real pizza? Maybe your recipe is good but I would call it with a different name…

  18. Arugula is known as Rocket because it will bolt with warm temperatures. April and May my garden begins to yield its first cuttings and I Can’t wait to try this. Delish

  19. ehmygosh!! That’s looks heavenly!!! :d yummy!!!!

    *~Feel free to visit my website at authorlauren.wordpress.com please post your thoughts~*

  20. Seriously delish!!! Printed this recipe off your blog and made it…. amazing!! So flavourful and light- and I have to say, went down so easy with some red wine… thanks for sharing this… if anyone else is reading this… try it… FAB!

  21. Your photos are asolutely gorgeous! They make your pizza look like a work of art. I make my pizza dough in 2 minutes in my Thermomix using a Jamie Oliver recipe. The Thermomix does the kneading and I take the credit. Brilliant! Well done and here’s to white pizza, my favourite!

  22. Thanks for helping me with my first pizza! I never tried to make it at home before. Thanks to you, I already did one! More pizza recipe …..

  23. You had me at arugula! I love this leafy green on all pizzas, and I often make one with it and proscuitto. However, I have yet to try a white pie. This will be next on my list.

  24. Sounds delicious, and great photos. The first time I ever had “white pizza,” I believe it was some kind of alfredo sauce in place of the usual tomato sauce, and just cheese on top of that. Very simple, but delicious.

  25. Two things I love, but the fact remains that if this pizza is not made in NY with NY water, it’s just not going to be any good. I’m sorry. It’s not personal. It’s geography… 😉

  26. This white pizza with arugula looks amazing. I’ve never tried to make anything like this, so I can’t wait to make this recipe out. Very nice post.

  27. My wife really loves pizza’s, but she haven’t tried making one, i’ll point her to this blog, maybe it can changed her mind!, can you suggest any good site for her to learn about this? Thanks!

  28. Pingback: Recipe | White Pizza with Arugula (via Our Footprints…..) « taguido

  29. Hey, I’m Italian,it seems good but remember that pizza was born like as a simple food. Put only 2 or 3 addiction elements only. Play with tomatoes in little cubes form. If you put arugola and ham don’t put cheese. Or only cheese and not tomatoes. One pizza that i didn’t have eat before was with liittle cubes of tomatoes and subtle slice of octopussy and a little (I said little – take 4-5 pint of beer nearly) of capsicum.
    On 17 March we have a feast day for the 150° anniversary of Italian Repubblic, so you have to make a pizza with green, white and red elements!
    Good luck

  30. This looks so tasteful and delicious. I’ve been with my girl in our relationship for about a year now, and she dies for a good slice. Recipe looks amazing! maybe with my new SECRET recipe she’ll never be able to break up with me ever lol. Thanks a lot for the tips. cant wait to try it with my love!

  31. Just wanted to let you know, I made the pizza last Saturday and it was SO GOOD! My teenagers loved it, and we now have a new pizza to add to our list of homemade pizzas to make on the weekends! Thanks, again, for sharing this recipe.

  32. I just made this last night. Best meal I’ve made in awhile! The only thing I might change is to use a bit less olive oil for the pizza. Some of it bubbled over and has left its mark on the bottom of my oven!

Leave a Reply

