Oh how I love, Barefoot Contessa!

Somehow, over the years I developed a love for Ina Garten, host of Barefoot Contessa on the Food Network. Ina Garten uses basic ingredients,  makes use of store bought ingredients when desired (i.e. puff pastry!), and her recipes always look so yummy!

We received Ina Garten’s Back to Basics cookbook as a wedding gift from Carlee & Chris which currently sits on our kitchen counter. Every time I mention Barefoot Contessa Ryan asks “What is a Contessa?” I guess Ryan is not the only person to ask this question because Ina Garten answered this on her Facebook page:

Barefoot Contessa is the name of a classic movie from the 1950’s with Humphrey Bogart and Ava Gardner. When I bought the store in 1978, it was called Barefoot Contessa. The former owner is Italian and her family called her the Barefoot Contessa when she was young. It’s about being elegant and earthy which is what we’re about.
SPACE

Anyways, while we were up north visiting my hometown a few weeks ago, my little brother’s future mother-in-law (Michelle), made this super yummy salad. Turns out she got the recipe from Barefoot Contessa!

photo courtesy of Bon Appetit

I have made it several times since following this recipe and as a rough draft, broiling (rather than grilling) a few of the vegetables such as the onion and bell peppers in the oven on a cookie sheet and using heirloom tomatoes. Also, I used store bought Champagne Vinaigrette (because I couldn’t find champagne vinegar) and added a little dijon mustard to the dressing. The grilled bread (homemade croutons) are the best part because they soak up all the yummy juice and dressing and who doesn’t like bread!!  I have also made it adding grilled chicken to it and it was yummy too!!!

2 thoughts on “Oh how I love, Barefoot Contessa!

  1. Thanks Shannon for the mention. I love this salad as well and knew chicken would be good in it as well. Glad you are continuing to make it!

  2. Yes – thanks for the introduction to it!! New recipes are always fun to try! I even bought a basil plant so it’s fun to grab the basil to use right from it!

Leave a Reply

