MIA: Libby's 100% Canned Pumpkin

With Halloween approaching tomorrow and my yearning for the sight of red and orange leaves, I think it is safe to say fall is here which means, time for Pumpkin Pie.  Any good pumpkin pie baker knows to use  LIBBY’S® 100% Pure Pumpkin; my Mom taught me years ago to not buy the LIBBY’S® Easy Pumpkin Pie Mix.

I am not sure how the pre-mixed one tastes, but being the great cook that she is I will stick to the tried and true recipe of using pure pumpkin.

So, a few weeks ago I had my first craving for pumpkin pie. I couldn’t think of anything else but pumpkin pie, pumpkin pie, pumpkin pie. So after work, I ventured to the Manahattan Beach Ralph’s to get canned pumpkin.  To my shock, NO CANNED PUMPKIN! I thought everyone else in town must have had that same craving for a little early season pumpkin pie. I asked the store manager and he confirmed that they were out of canned pumpkin. I asked him again to make sure there wasn’t a secret stash somewhere. He shook his head No.

Now, I wanted pumpkin pie more than ever! My next stop, Cook’s Market in El Segundo. I walked to the canned vegetable section and to my shock, NO CANNED PUMPKIN, only the pie mix!!

I searched all around the section, hoping someone misplaced a can, and sure enough, I FOUND ONE! It felt like striking gold! A small little hallelujah came out as I rushed to the counter to buy it. I successfully made my first pumpkin pie of the season

Fast-forward to yesterday’s dinner at Katie & Andy’s house, when I spotted a can of pumpkin on her counter. Katie said that can was from last year because all of the stores around town are STILL out of pumpkin! There are rumors as to what caused this pumpkin shortage, but apparently, pumpkin is only harvested and canned once a year then distributed to warehouses.  There is speculation that the canned pumpkin shortage is due to damaging weather in 2008 near Morton, Ill., where a majority of the nation’s pumpkin crops used for canning are grown. Whatever the reason, lets hope they fix this shortage soon!

My advice, buy the pumpkin while you can because it wouldn’t be Thanksgiving without it!!!

Leave a Reply

